Mind Flay – Very Bugged

Last night, for the first time since patch 3.0.2 was released, I raided as shadow.  While I thought I was at the hit cap, spells were still missing.  I know that 17% hit is now required, and the hit from talents was reworked.

I have 3 points in Misery, 3 points in Shadow Focus, and 140 spell hit. I shouldn’t have any spells missing (139 is the new spell hit cap, with talents).

I figured Misery was bugging out.  Apparently other players have been having trouble with Mind Flay (which happened to be the spell I was missing with). Eleven seconds of research brought me to shadowpriest.com’s list of currently known bugs, which had multiple listings for Mind Flay, including it “randomly” missing.

Current theory about why it is missing: Raids are reaching the 40 slot debuff limit and Misery getting “pushed off.”  In the WotLK beta, the debuff limit is much higher, so this wasn’t happening there.  Only on the live servers.  Hopefully Blizzard will roll out higher debuff limits with WotLK.

Other reported problems with Mind Flay include:

  • Ticks not being evenly spaced.
  • Last tick being cut off.
  • Not working with properly with [nochanneling] macros.

Ghostcrawler (Blizz game developer) addressed the issues with Mind Flay today on the forums, saying:”We’ll look into it.”

I wasn’t watching Mind Flay ticks as carefully as I probably should have been, but if we are frequently losing the last tick of it, and sometimes have a 3% miss chance on it even when capped, that could be a 10% or more reduction in our raid DPS just from bugs with that one spell.  Mind Flay generally makes up about 1/4 to 1/3 of our raid DPS.

Hopefully Blizzard does look into fixing that soon.

EDIT: More from Blizzard about Mind Flay:

Just as an update…

We rebuilt Mind Flay to make it work under the new system. It’s now much more like Arcane Missiles, so the possibility does exist you can clip some of the ticks. It’s possible for us to rebuild the spell again, but that will mean changing a lot of talents (which introduces the possibility of bugs) so we need to make sure this is absolutely necessary first.

I would think about a 10% loss in DPS due to these bugs would constitute an “absolutely necessary” fix.  One would hope, at least.

8 Responses

  1. L2P Blizz

  2. That’s pretty sad. Really I don’t know what they’ve been up to with spriests and to a lesser extend warlocks.

    Both have become very unpleasant for me to play and in case of my spriest to level with. I am to the point where I am considering either benching my priest or trying the route of a smite build.

    The dark side isn’t as appealing as it once was.

  3. Buggy Mind Flay…creepy Skin…

    …what the heck is wrong with Blizz?

  4. I have been noticing resists on Mind Flay primarily on Bosses. I raided AQ20 with a total of 6 players, so Misery wasn’t getting “pushed off” and I was amased when I saw Mind Flay getting fully resisted by Ossirian. Same thing when I raided Onyxia. Boss level NPCs (who always require the hit cap) are resisting it alot.
    On the subject of missing ticks, I haven’t noticed. But if that does happen, remember that MF now crits and, in my case, they can criy for 1800-2000 damage in a raid. That’s a big loss on a tick every second damage spell.
    I doubt this is a Misery related error, I would mostly atribute it on a coeficent error when the spells where reworked for the new hit or the work done on the spell to make it crit. It probably slipped by beta testing since most testing is done at lvl 80 when this bug might not be happening…

  5. “We rebuilt Mind Flay to make it work under the new system. It’s now much more like Arcane Missiles, so the possibility does exist you can clip some of the ticks. It’s possible for us to rebuild the spell again, but that will mean changing a lot of talents (which introduces the possibility of bugs) so we need to make sure this is absolutely necessary first.”

    Hmm…

  6. What the…?
    This…can’t…be…happening.

  7. I confirmed that every once in a while Mind Flay “dissipates” from the target instead of dealing the final damage tick. Can’t really isolate the conditions.

  8. yes I have the same bug..

Comments are closed.

