Comment Free For All

I try not to blog about blogging too much (as I generally dislike it when other non-blogging blogs do that), but I have a small administrative announcement.

I have changed my commenting policy on dwarfpriest.com to free-for-all.  You don’t need to have anything approved, and don’t need to register.  Just type your name and e-mail, and viola!  Comments!

This is a temporary change just to see how things go.  If things go well, it could become permanent.

For those of you who do not know, I use basically free webhosting on wordpress.com.  I cannot install nifty commenting plug-ins to set up a spam-comment-free fortress.   I have to rely on whatever wordpress.com provides (which, admittedly, isn’t that bad).  I pride myself on never having had a spam comment show up on the site (they’ve all been caught before they appeared).  I sincerely wish that will remain the case.

/end pointless diatribe

PS – Opinions on this?  Perhaps your should leave a comment. :)

34 Responses

  1. I will comment to say that I recently subscribed to this site and I am really glad I did. It’s nice to find someone playing a priest who talks intelligently online, instead of the awful QQ you get in the official forums.
    keep up the good work :)

  2. YES!!!! Grats on the decision! This will be fun.

    Luv,
    Wyn

  3. Great change and it’s certainly nice to know. I’m fairly sure that WordPress.com has Akismet in place which should knock out most of the incoming spam you get.

  4. A welcome change, in this Dwarf Priest’s opinion! There have been times when I’ve thought about commenting, but didn’t want to jump through hoops. On the other hand, maybe those comments just weren’t insightful or worthwhile enough to warrant putting up with even a mild barrier to entry. If the change stays, I know I for one will be more inclined to add to the conversation whatever I can.

  5. This must be a…dream…
    …me having the chance to write a comment without being logged in…incredibly amazing… ;)

    I’d like to thank you for this blog, it really helped me out of my ‘huh, what’s the deal with Shadows again?’-misery and I really miss such a blog for all the other classes aswell.
    Please keep on writing, testing and mythbusting so even germans will be up-to-date!
    (uh, bad english, I know…and I’m sorry…and I’m german…yeah, I know, please don’t mind it…)

    greetings,
    chameleon

  6. Nice change :)

  7. Awesome! Not that I really minded logging into my wp account but this just makes it much easier.

  8. Good luck staying spam-free :)

  9. Very nice! I’ve started reading your blog recently but have been too lazy to register so I can comment. Keep up the good work, I like how you cover everything priest related, whether it be holy, shadow, or disc!

  10. Woot, no annoying registration !

    RIP Priest racials…
    Wish they had kept a few more of them, I had hoped that we would all have a few more spells to use. I will miss blackout proc’s on touch of weakness / troll thingy-majig though…

  11. Very good decision; hope this awesome blog stays spam-free.
    Big thumbs-up and keep up the great work.
    “A Dwarf Priest” is one of the few sites (wave@matticus and wyn) i keep visiting every day (almost :) ) and it is a very resourceful blog for EVERY priest.

    Best wishes from ANOTHER German Priest :DD

  12. W00t! A New Zealand Dwarf Priest here :)

    I check this blog every day, and I find it incredibly informative, well-written and entertaining. Keep up the good work.

    Oh and this comment without signing up has made me both subscribe and comment, so yeah, I think it is a great idea :).

  13. The only kind of spam you should be worried about is the subtle one, that looks like a valid comment but is actually some gold-hacker using another place to link to his site (I’ve seen this in several blog comments as well as wowinsider comments).
    Otherwise, you really shouldn’t have to do a lot of manual maintenance- here’s hoping :)

  14. Finally!

    See how many comments you got now? It’s already working :)

  15. Akismet should catch just about all of the spam, it’s not ever let anything slip through the cracks yet. I think you’ve made a very popular decision! :)

  16. My first response to your blog, and it’s a nonsense one :p
    Well, I really like that you chose this option for your forum!

    Keep up the good work! I really like your blog!

    /Alyna

  17. Ahhh, very nice. I’ve been visiting almost daily for quite a while now and always felt tlike commenting. I guess us priests are collectively lazy, huh?

    But I just wanted to finally say hey and tell ya to keep it up!

    -Tes

  18. *yay*
    Thumbs up for this change :)

    <3 your blog – keep up the good work…now with more comments ;)

  19. This site is my favorite priest site, which i visit daily.

    You are quick on priestrelated news and comes with good comments and entertaining facts. When some priests ask me ingame i always tell them to check out this site.

    Keep up the good work.

    Zietha – Troll Priest

  20. Thank you for opening comments – there have been plenty of times I’ve wanted to say something but don’t want to sign up! On a side note, Akismet usually seems to do pretty well with spam, so I hope this works out for you.

  21. Great change – much easier to comment when you don’t have to jump through hoops!

  22. A great change – easier commenting is a big plus for me on any blog!

    /hug
    /vanish

  23. A great change indeed, as I was incredibly lazy and this makes things easier ;)

    Also want to add that I love you site, always send new priests here and they come back well educated!

  24. Agreed. Helps us who are just motivated enough to read and spout ridiculous accusations on your blog but not motivated enough to actually register.

    Also, heart the blog. Incredibly well-written.

  25. Excellent !

    Nice blog, keep up the great work.

  26. Check the sight everyday!
    Keep up the good work.

  27. I’ll join the others in saying this is one of my favourite WoW blogs and as a new priest, I have found it most useful in learning the ropes of this subtle class.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us.

  28. I love it! I could never remember my Word Press account details. Fingers crossed you don’t get plagued by spam. Thank you!

  29. Nice to see :) I love this page. Keep it up ;)

  30. Wonderful!!!! I am really happy to see this change and hope the spam stays far, far away!

  31. Since I found this blog so shortly ago I check back almost daily and loving every moment of it. Having a blog myself I know how hard it is to keep spammers from it, but this chance really is nice! :-)

  32. Yes!

  33. Thrilled with this. I’ve wanted to comment any number of times on the fly as I read on break at work, but never got over the registration hurdle.

    I have gained a tremendous amount from your work, and wanted to express my appreciation. Your gear list alone has been a guiding force as I geared up for raiding for the first time, and now progressing onwards…

  34. YAY! I’ve been following the news on dwarfpriest.com for quite a while now, but every time I want to post a comment I remember that I must subscribe, and I simply think “What a hassle.” Now I can spam every page really easily xD

    /kiss
    /clap

Comments are closed.

