Surprise! It’s Pirates’ Day

Blizzard has very craftily snuck a new holiday event in under our noses: Pirates’ Day (as Sept. 19th is International Talk Like a Pirate Day).

This holiday pisses me off for a number of reasons:

1. I went to all the hard work of constructing my own pirate costume from scratch (see right), including acquiring the very rare First Mate Hat, only to have the same look freely available as a buff to all players able to click their mouse twice at a certain NPC.  Not cool.

2. I can’t talk like a pirate.  I need an add-on to do it for me.

3. If you really love pirates, and went to the trouble of grinding Bloodsail Buccaneer rep in the past, chances are you aren’t welcome in Booty Bay where the pirate celebratory festivities take place.

Out of spite, I spent some time blowing up pirates in Howling Ford on the WotLK beta.  There is a daily quest where you fend off the forces of invading pirates by dropping bombs from a Zeppelin (the quest is called “Break the Blockade.”)

Take that, scum!

One Response

  1. I understand your frustration, I really do, but here’s another perspective on the holiday that you might appreciate. It was the first time I was able to be in an illusion as a dwarf female. I honestly was expecting to be transformed into a ditzy human pirate similar to the deviate fish illusions and was just floored to see that I could still be a dwarf. That and the dark iron dwarf illusion from BRD in one day nearly brought me to happy tears. Nearly!

Comments are closed.

